Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Stock code: 11)

## Poll Results of the 2017 Annual General Meeting

At the Annual General Meeting of Hang Seng Bank Limited (the "Bank") held on 12 May 2017 (the "2017 AGM"), all the resolutions were approved by shareholders by poll voting. The number of shares represented by votes for and against the respective resolutions at the 2017 AGM was as follows:

		No. of Vo	otes (%)
	Resolutions	For	Against
1	To adopt the reports and audited financial statements for	1,414,155,904	206,472
	2016.	(99.985402%)	(0.014598%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the ordinary resolution.		
2(a)	To re-elect Dr Raymond K F Ch'ien as Director.	1,406,617,530	7,846,547
		(99.445264%)	(0.554736%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the ordinary resolution.	resolution was dul	• •
2(b)	To re-elect Mr Nixon L S Chan as Director.	1,408,082,498	6,019,097
		(99.574352%)	(0.425648%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the ordinary resolution.	resolution was dul	ly passed as an
2(c)	To re-elect Ms L Y Chiang as Director.	1,411,231,508	3,187,064
		(99.774673%)	(0.225327%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the ordinary resolution.	resolution was dul	ly passed as an
2(d)	To re-elect Ms Sarah C Legg as Director.	1,408,047,726	6,050,269
		(99.572146%)	(0.427854%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the ordinary resolution.	resolution was dul	ly passed as an
2(e)	To re-elect Mr Kenneth S Y Ng as Director.	1,408,066,087	6,046,964
		(99.572385%)	(0.427615%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the ordinary resolution.	resolution was dul	
2(f)	To re-elect Mr Michael W K Wu as Director.	1,396,432,380	17,328,346
		(98.774308%)	(1.225692%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the ordinary resolution.	resolution was dul	ly passed as an
3	To fix the remuneration of the Non-executive Directors	1,414,109,273	312,307
	(Note).	(99.977920%)	(0.022080%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the ordinary resolution.	resolution was dul	ly passed as an
4	To re-appoint PricewaterhouseCoopers as auditor and to	1,406,807,595	7,643,396
	authorise the Directors to determine the remuneration of the auditor.	(99.459621%)	(0.540379%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the ordinary resolution.	resolution was dul	ly passed as an

		No. of Votes (%)	
Resolutions		For	Against
5	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to buy-back	1,406,369,116	90,996
	shares not exceeding 10% of the number of shares in issue.	(99.993530%)	(0.006470%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the re-	esolution was d	uly passed as an
	ordinary resolution.		T
6	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to issue		187,177,644
	additional shares which shall not in aggregate exceed, except	(86.763819%)	(13.236181%)
	in certain specific circumstances such as pursuant to a rights	,	,
	issue or any scrip dividend scheme, 20%, or 5% where the		
	shares are to be allotted wholly for cash, of the number of		
	shares in issue.		
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the resolution was duly passed as a		
	ordinary resolution.		

(Note: In relation to Resolution No. 3, Non-executive Directors include Independent Non-executive Directors.)

As at the date of the 2017 AGM, a total of 1,911,842,736 shares of the Bank were in issue which was the total number of shares entitling the holders to attend and vote on all the resolutions at the 2017 AGM. There were no restrictions on any shareholders to cast votes on any of the proposed resolutions at the 2017 AGM. No person has indicated in the circular containing the notice of the 2017 AGM that it/he/she intends to abstain from voting on or vote against any of the resolutions at the 2017 AGM.

Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, the Bank's registrar, acted as scrutineer for the vote-taking at the 2017 AGM.

As at the date hereof, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Dr Raymond K F Ch'ien\* (Chairman), Ms Rose W M Lee (Vice-Chairman and Chief Executive), Dr John C C Chan\*, Mr Nixon L S Chan\*, Dr Henry K S Cheng\*, Ms L Y Chiang\*, Mr Andrew H C Fung, Dr Fred Zuliu Hu\*, Ms Irene Y L Lee\*, Ms Sarah C Legg\*, Dr Eric K C Li\*, Dr Vincent H S Lo\*, Mr Kenneth S Y Ng\*, Mr Richard Y S Tang\*, Mr Peter T S Wong\* and Mr Michael W K Wu\*.

- \* Independent Non-executive Directors
- \* Non-executive Directors

For and on behalf of Hang Seng Bank Limited C C Li Secretary

Hong Kong, 12 May 2017

恒生銀行有限公司

**Hang Seng Bank Limited** 

**Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability** 

Registered Office and Head Office: 83 Des Voeux Road Central, Hong Kong

Member HSBC Group