Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Stock code: 11)

FIRST INTERIM DIVIDEND FOR 2017

The Board of Hang Seng Bank Limited has declared a first interim dividend in respect of the year ending 31 December 2017 of HK\$1.2 per share.

The Board of Directors of Hang Seng Bank Limited (the "**Bank**") today declared a **first interim dividend** in respect of the year ending 31 December 2017 of HK\$1.2 per share, which will be payable on Thursday, 8 June 2017, to shareholders whose names appear on the Register of Shareholders of the Bank on Friday, 19 May 2017.

The dividend as declared should not be taken as an indication of the level of profit or dividend for the full year of the Bank.

REGISTER OF SHAREHOLDERS

The Register of Shareholders of the Bank will be closed for one day on Friday, 19 May 2017, during which no transfer of shares can be registered. To qualify for the first interim dividend for 2017, all transfers, accompanied by the relevant share certificates, must be lodged with the Bank's registrar, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, Shops 1712-1716, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong, for registration not later than 4:30 pm on Thursday, 18 May 2017. Shares of the Bank will be traded ex-dividend as from Wednesday, 17 May 2017.

DIRECTORS

As at the date hereof, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Dr Raymond K F Ch'ien* (Chairman), Ms Rose W M Lee (Vice-Chairman and Chief Executive), Dr John C C Chan*, Mr Nixon L S Chan[#], Dr Henry K S Cheng*, Ms L Y Chiang*, Mr Andrew H C Fung, Dr Fred Zuliu Hu*, Ms Irene Y L Lee*, Ms Sarah C Legg[#], Dr Eric K C Li*, Dr Vincent H S Lo[#], Mr Kenneth S Y Ng[#], Mr Richard Y S Tang*, Mr Peter T S Wong[#] and Mr Michael W K Wu*.

- * Independent Non-executive Directors
- *[#] Non-executive Directors*

By Order of the Board C C Li Secretary

Hong Kong, 4 May 2017