Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Stock code: 11)

DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR IN RELATION TO MAJOR TRANSACTION

Reference is made to the joint announcement by Hang Seng Bank Limited (the "**Bank**") and HSBC Holdings plc dated 12 May 2015 (the "**Joint Announcement**"), in relation to the sale by the Bank of part of its shareholding representing up to 4.99% of the ordinary shares of Industrial Bank Co., Ltd., by way of placement to institutional investors (the "**Transaction**").

As stated in the Joint Announcement, as additional time was needed for the Bank to compile the information required for the circular containing, among other things, details of the Transaction and other information (the "**Circular**"), an application would be made by the Bank to The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "**Stock Exchange**") for a waiver from strict compliance with Rule 14.41(a) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange to despatch the Circular before 3 June 2015 and extending the deadline for the despatch of the Circular to a date on or before 30 June 2015 (the "**Waiver**"). The Bank has applied for, and the Stock Exchange has granted, the Waiver.

The Board of Directors (the "**Board**") of the Bank is pleased to announce that the Circular will be despatched to the shareholders of the Bank on or before 30 June 2015.

As at the date hereof, the Board comprises Dr Raymond K F Ch'ien* (Chairman), Ms Rose W M Lee (Vice-Chairman and Chief Executive), Dr John C C Chan*, Mr Nixon L S Chan, Dr Henry K S Cheng*, Ms L Y Chiang*, Mr Andrew H C Fung, Dr Fred Zuliu Hu*, Ms Irene Y L Lee*, Ms Sarah C Legg[#], Dr Eric K C Li*, Dr Vincent H S Lo[#], Mr Kenneth S Y Ng[#], Mr Richard Y S Tang*, Mr Peter T S Wong[#] and Mr Michael W K Wu*.

Non-executive Directors * Independent Non-executive Directors

For and on behalf of Hang Seng Bank Limited C C Li Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 2 June 2015

恒生銀行有限公司 Hang Seng Bank Limited Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability Registered Office and Head Office: 83 Des Voeux Road Central, Hong Kong

Member HSBC Group